Cold Kids, Warm Hearts……

I don’t know if you have heard of this project through WBCL but it is such a great thing they are doing for the children of Romania.  I just had to share. 🙂  They collect coats, hats, scarves, boots etc. and are actually collecting this week and next. They send these over to the homeless children and poor families in Romania.  The girls and I just watched a video (you have to take 10 minutes and see this) of people receiving their coats etc.  The houses some of the people live in look like old sheds.  Once again I am reminded of how much we have and how we need to be doing so much more for these sweet people.   Take time today and go to www.wbcl.org and click on the video link for the Cold Kids, Warm Hearts. 

One day last winter we came home from being gone for the weekend and our heat had gone off.  It was late at night and we were so tired!!  We decided to just go to bed and call someone in the morning.  We literally slept with 2 sweat shirts on, 2 pants, socks, extra blankets, the girls even put on hats.  It was miserable and it was only 1 night.  I can’t imagine  living in those conditions and having no hope of the furnace guy coming in the morning.  The one lady especially broke my heart.  She was a single mom living with 2 small children in what they at first thought was a shed for animals.  Her baby was 2 weeks old. 

We are so blessed.  I hope this helps you, like it has me, to not only count our blessings but look for ways to help those in need.    Matthew 25:35, " For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me."  v. 40 "I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me. "

Leave a Reply

